Lovely Seeds: A Walk Through the Garden of our Becoming | Review

Title: Lovely Seeds: A Walk Through the Garden of Our Becoming
Author: R.H. Swaney
Pages: 160 pages
Version: Ebook (ARC)
Publisher: Central Avenue Publishing
Rating: ★★★★★

R. H. Swaney brings a depolarizing voice to the poetry world with this debut collection. Amongst the topics of mental health, self-love, and social progress, readers will find a soft but powerful voice that uncovers the beauty that exists inside of all of us.

Examining life and its circle from seed to withering to regrowth, the thought-provoking nature of this collection will bring readers to a place of self-exploration, reflection, and a deeper understanding of their place in the world.


This book was provided by the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Central Avenue Publishing and Netgalley!

Lovely Seeds: A Walk Through the Garden of our Becoming is a poetry collection about mental health and self-love.

I wish we could talk about our hearts like we talk about the weather, because whether or not we are okay is more important than the chance of rain.

Lovely Seeds is the first poetry collection I read by R.H. Swaney and I’m in love. I haven’t read that many poetry collections written by male poets, but male poets can express their feelings and thoughts so beautifully. In our society, men aren’t really allowed to show their true feelings or how bad their mental health is, and that’s just sad. Men are allowed to share their emotions and that’s why I really love male poets.

 I learned that boys aren’t supposed to cry. So I kept the tears inside until they became an ocean.

I think that R.H. Swaney did an amazing job in expressing his emotions and feelings, and I think that this collection is really beautiful. I also think that the cover is stunning as well as the pictures in this collection. I think that these pictures give something extra to the book!

I want the world to see there is so much more to every single one of us underneath the pain.

I really loved this collection and I cannot wait to read more by R.H. Swaney! Make sure to check out his Spotify channel for his spoken poetry!

Even when the hurt keeps you in bed, remember your breath and the victory in the rise and fall of your chest.

Favourite poems:
  • Weather Talk
  • Appointments
  • The Broken Record of Friends Who Don’t Understand
  • Good Morning
  • Every Breath is Victory
  • Freedom
  • The Music of Our Dancing Ribs
  • The Way in Which We Heal
  • Food Stamps
  • The Things We Teach
  • Suffering
  • The Cooling of Wax