30 Apr 2019

Lucid | Review

Title: Lucid
Series: Lucid #1
Author: Kristy Fairlamb
Pages: 235 pages
Version: Ebook (ARC)
Publisher: Lakewater Press
Rating: ★★★★
3.5/5*

Synopsis

A terrifying power. A horrifying curse. 

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge, she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.


Review
 
This book was provided by the author through Chapter by Chapter in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Kristy Fairlamb and Chapter by Chapter! 

Lucid is the first book in the Lucid series and tells the story of Lucy and Tyler.

I really like the concept of Lucid, because it’s really interesting. I mean, dreaming about people’s death and then trying to save them is really original. I really liked Lucy and Tyler’s relationship and I liked reading about their friends and family.

I think that the ending was a bit predictable and I had a ‘solution’ in my head for Lucy and Tyler’s problem, but then again I get why Lucid didn’t end with my ‘solution’. I often thought that the dreams were a bit too long and that the story was a bit slow.

Besides that, I really liked the story and I thought that the writing was good. I’m interested in the sequel and I really want to know what will happen to Lucy and Tyler!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Be aware that by leaving a comment, you accept the privacy policy, which you can find under ‘Contact and Disclaimer’.