Where I Ache | Review

Title: Where I Ache
Author: Megan O’Keeffe
Pages: 157 pages
Version: Ebook (ARC)
Rating: ★★★


Where I Ache is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, death, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection.


This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Megan O’Keeffe! 

Can you lay with me here
until I start feeling like myself again?  

Where I Ache is a poetry collection about depression, jealousy, death, and strength. This collection has six chapters: My Foggy Head, My Weak Spine, My Bruised Heart, My Grieving Knees, My Greedy Green Eyes and My Soothing Arms.

One would think I’m addicted to my own pain
with the way I break my own heart.

Where I Ache is the first poetry collection I’ve read by Megan O’Keeffe. I liked the little illustrations in this collection and some of the poems were really relatable!

Favourite poems:
  • Lay With Me
  • Never Meant to be Mine
  • Morning
  • Battle Day
  • A Night in the Darkness Wears on You Like a Lifetime
  • The Enemy
  • It’s (NOT) That Easy
  • Everything You are Makes You Perfectly You
  • History Says I’ll End Us
  • Worthy
  • Grieving
  • Stop Asking Me How I’m Doing