13 Jan 2020

Reaper's Blood | Release day blitz

Title: Reaper's Blood
Series: The Grimm Brotherhood #1
Authors: Kel Carpenter & Meg Anne
Release date: 13 January 2020

Synopsis

I died for Hostess cupcakes. 
I know. Tragic, right?

Even worse, after I came back I still didn’t get any cupcakes.

What I did get, however, is a six-foot-something reaper with eyes like blue fire to guide me into the world of the supernatural. Which, as it turned out, wasn’t quite like the fairytales little girls are told growing up.

Not only is magic real, more importantly, so are monsters.
And apparently, I’m one of them.

But I’m getting ahead of myself here.

You see, four years ago I left my hometown and swore to never come back.

Now my brother is dead and I have no choice but to go searching for answers. Except finding them isn’t easy when the secret society he belonged to is covering it up.

 I gotta find out who killed him while watching my own back, because if I’m not careful I might be next—and this time, there’s no do over. Luckily for me, Mr. Single and Hot as F*ck is determined to help me keep my ass alive.

I’m a lucky, lucky girl.
Some days.

 **The Grimm Brotherhood is a new adult urban fantasy series with slow-burn romance and a snarky heroine. It contains material intended for mature teens and adults. Fans of Kelly St. Clare, Leia Stone, K.F. Breene, Annette Marie, and Audrey Grey will love this action packed, food-filled adventure!**



Review

This book was provided by the authors through Wildfire Marketing Solutions in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Kel Carpenter, Meg Anne and Wildfire Marketing Solutions!

Reaper’s Blood is the first book in The Grimm Brotherhood series and tells the story of Salem Kaine.

Reaper’s Blood is the second book I’ve read about reapers and I think it’s my favourite one so far. I really liked the story and I couldn’t stop reading. This book was so fast paced and well written! The story is amazing and I loved the characters.

Speaking of characters, let’s start with Salem. She’s such a badass woman, and she has no filter. She’s such a funny character and I enjoyed reading about her. Graves is another interesting character and I was interested in him from the beginning! I loved that Graves’ mum has OCD, I think these tiny representations are amazing in books.

Reaper’s Blood was such a great book and I couldn’t get enough of the story and the characters. I really loved this book and it’s definitely one of my favourite books of the year so far! I cannot wait to read the sequel, Reaping Havoc!

Excerpt
 
     A squeak left me as I jumped, falling sideways into the decrepit remainder of my car. I grunted, sitting up. Intense fluorescent light shined right in my face. I swatted it away, and the flashlight went flying.
     Without the blinding brightness, I could see clearly again. The stranger in front of me was quite a looker. Dark hair. High cheekbones and a strong jaw. Stubble and full lips. I blinked twice, questioning for a moment if it were somehow possible I was still dead.
     Then the blue eyes hardened.
     Definitely not dead, I decided again.
     “Who the fuck are you?” I demanded, pulling myself to my feet.
     “How about we start with what the fuck you’re doing trying to climb into a car that is on fire?” he snapped back.

About the authors

Kel Carpenter is a master of werdz. When she's not reading or writing, she's traveling the world, lovingly pestering her editor, and spending time with her husband and fur-babies. She is always on the search for good tacos and the best pizza. She resides in Bethesda, MD and desperately tries to avoid the traffic.


Meg Anne has always had stories running on a loop in her head. They started off as daydreams about how the evil queen (aka Mom) had her slaving away doing chores; and more recently shifted into creating backgrounds about the people stuck beside her during rush hour. The stories have been there, they were just waiting for her to tell them. Like any true SoCal native, Meg enjoys staying inside curled up with a good book and her cat Henry... or maybe that's just her; sunburns hurt! You can convince Meg to buy just about anything if it's covered in glitter or rhinestones, or make her laugh by sharing your favorite bad joke. She also accepts bribes in the form of baked goods and Mexican food.

2 comments:

  1. I really enjouyed that excerpt, it's made me really want to read Reaper's Blood.
    Cora | http://www.teapartyprincess.co.uk/

    ReplyDelete

Be aware that by leaving a comment, you accept the privacy policy, which you can find under ‘Contact and Disclaimer’.