The Wrath | Review

Title: The Wrath
Series: Rise of the Warlords #4
Author: Gena Showalter
Version: Ebook (ARC)
Release date: 6 February 2024
Rating: ★★★★.5


New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter returns with a new book in the tantalizing Rise of the Warlords series, featuring a brutal Hell king and the irresistible beauty who upends his world.

For centuries, Rathbone the Only, King of Agonies, has existed for one purpose: recovering the enchanted bones of his slain wife to bring her back to life. He’s never been closer to success. But a new enemy has risen. A band of deadly war gods who have thirty days to destroy her or suffer the consequences. With time running out, Rathbone hires a maddening harpy-oracle, unaware she has an agenda of her own.

Neeka the Unwanted is a fierce warrior on a mission: stop Rathbone and the gods. She’s seen the future if either is victorious, and it’s horrifying. She’ll do whatever proves necessary to forge a new path, even seduce the ruthless royal from his purpose. What she can’t predict? How the intense male will shatter her hard-won defenses along the way.

As Rathbone battles unexpected betrayals, cunning foes and the wild temptress he craves with every fiber of his being, he knows he must choose: hold on to a cold dream or embrace a new flame.


This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Gena Showalter!

The Wrath is the fourth book in the Rise of the Warlords series and tells the story of Neeka and Rathbone. Although this is the fourth book in the series, it can be read as a standalone.

I really enjoyed reading the first three books in the Rise of the Warlords series, and I was so excited to start reading The Wrath. My first books by Gena Showalter were the Lords of the Underworld books, and the Rise of the Warlords books have the same vibe. I really love both book series, and I'm always happy when I can read another book in one of those series. So, The Wrath is the fourth book in the Rise of the Underworld series, and although it can be read as a standalone, I highly recommend reading the other books in the series because they're just so good!

The Wrath is about Neeka and Rathbone. Neeka is a harpy oracle, and Rathbone is the King of Agonies. They both have felt not wanted or not good enough, and although they have their differences, they're such a good match. I really enjoyed reading their story, and getting to know the characters. If you have read the previous books in the series, you know that Erebus challenges the Astra, but in The Wrath, there isn't really a big focus on the Astra, and more on just Neeka and Rathbone, and their journey.

The Wrath was another amazing book in the Rise of the Warlords series, and I didn’t expect anything else from Gena Showalter. She's such an amazing Fantasy Romance author, and I truly enjoy reading her books. I really liked Neeka and Rathbone, they're both funny characters, and I wish their happy ending was a lot longer than we got! I just really liked them. I'm so excited to read more in the Rise of the Warlords series, so Gena, I hope you already started writing!